Boy I sure miss this place! (and photo gear talk)

vincechu

Veteran
Guess the title says it all.

Having sold all my m4/3rds stuff and bought into pentax I don't really visit this site much, though I still have my LX5. I have to admit in the last few months I've not been here much as I've mainly been around numerous forums more geared towards pentax but non have come close to the amazingly friendly and warm atmosphere here, and at mu-43 which Amin also runs (atleast i think he still does?).

I bought the K5 and the FA 31 ltd, for the image quality benefits. BUT the weight and large size (compared to what I used to have i know the k5 is smaller than most DSLRs) mean I often leave it at home, and I'm finding I'm taking less photos than i used to.

Finally the value of the Fa 31mm ltd and K5 makes me baby my gear a lot, and I feel I've spent too much on photography - especially as I'm no pro! ;-) I guess I bought the 31mm ltd due to LBA (lens buying addiction), for its bokeh and legendary/cult status, but in all honesty it doesn't suit my needs well.

So I guess I'm considering selling everything and starting from scratch again!

The X100 looks a very interesting option - love the sexy retro styling, but i only wish it had interchangeable lenses.

The GXR and 28mm and 50mm is also looking good - I've seen some beautiful images over at the GXR section here and it will cover my needs well - the 31ltd doesnt focus as closely as I'd like so the 50mm macro would be perfect.

Guess that was pretty much a "i'm back" and an update on what I've been doing the last few months post.

+Its been a little interesting ride for me also. MY really first site I participated in was mu43 also, and like you Vince, sold my 4/3 gear. I eventuallyl found
my way here and now a fixture of sorts. I know a few people who run through cameras just like yourself and myself. Either way this place is laid back and
comfy for me.