Ef x20

Discussion in 'Accessories' started by gmutt26, Jul 18, 2014.

1. gmutt26

gmutt26 FujiXspot Regular

Jul 18, 2014
    Somerset/England
    I am new to the world of Fuji and lovign my x20 so far!

I take alot of photos of my daughter indoors and i noticed there is a nice small looking flash i can get the EF X20

Is it any good?
    Will it be a good buy for the type of pics i am taking?
    and how do you use it?

2. jloden

jloden FujiXspot Top Veteran

Mar 9, 2013
    Hunterdon County, NJ
    Jay
    I have the EF-X20 flash and find it useful for certain things, mostly as an ultra-portable flash I can carry in my bag everywhere. I keep a pair of smallish radio triggers or a sync cable in the bag so I can fire the flash behind me to bounce the light off a wall or ceiling in a pinch.

The good: simple interface, tiny size, TTL support (on camera only), more power than a built-in flash
    The bad: Doesn't swivel or tilt, slooow recycle times, still a fairly low powered flash

Used in the hotshoe it's going to look just like a pop-up flash only with more power, so I don't find it particularly appealing most of the time on camera. The exception is for vacation photos - I've used it on the camera with a tripod for backlit sunset photos and find it does a nice job of fill flash.

The rest of the time, I really wish it had tilt and swivel for bounce, and the recycle time is so slow that if I'm planning to use a lot of flash I just bring something else. The rest of the time it stays in my bag as a "just in case" flash I can use in a pinch for some fill.

3. gmutt26

gmutt26 FujiXspot Regular

Jul 18, 2014
    Somerset/England
    Great. Thanks. If the recycle time is slow I don't think it will be any good for lighting my daughter indoors as she is running around everywhere

Sent from my iPhone using FujiXspot

4. jloden

jloden FujiXspot Top Veteran

Mar 9, 2013
    Hunterdon County, NJ
    Jay