How Good/Bad Is the Fuji 16-50 3.5-5.6 Kit lens?

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by Dave Jenkins, Feb 10, 2017.

1. Dave Jenkins

Dave Jenkins FujiXspot Rookie

Jul 15, 2015
    Dave Jenkins
    Looking at the soon-to-be-released Fuji XT-20. It's $200 cheaper with the 16-50 f3.5-5.6 lens than with the 18-55 f2.8-4 lens. I know the 18-55 has a decent reputation, but how good/bad is the 16-50? I like the range better.

Of course, I would like to get the 16-50 f2.8, but that is far out of my reach at this time.

2. Andy Garcia

Andy Garcia FujiXspot Regular

Jan 15, 2016
    Guanacaste, Costa Rica
    Andy Whiteman
    Hi Dave. I use the plastic fantastic 16-50mm all the time on an XE2. I have no experience of the 18-55mm or any other Fuji lenses as I use "vintage" Nikon and Konica Hexanon lenses as I can't afford the top line Fuji stuff. Personally I think it's a great lens. It's very light and for me makes great photos. I'm considering the 55-230mm version too. Here's a recent photo taken a few days ago. Shot in RAW, L/R and Luminar. 9 2 17 Sunset 2-.

• Like Like x 3
  3. Lightmancer

Lightmancer Super Moderator Subscribing Member

Feb 2, 2013
    Sunny Frimley
    Bill Palmer
    They seldom come up secondhand... I know, I've been looking. That should tell you something...

• Like Like x 1
  4. Luke

Luke FujiXspot Top Veteran Subscribing Member

Jan 31, 2013
    Milwaukee, WI USA
    Luke
    between the extra $200 in your wallet and the extra 2mm on the wide end, I think I'd go for it. And I've had and loved the faster. more expensive one and loved it. But I haven't seen a bad shot with the 16-50 (well, that's not true, but nothing that was the fault of the lens :laugh1:)

• Like Like x 2
  5. Biro

Biro Super Moderator Subscribing Member

Feb 1, 2013
    Jersey Shore
    Steve