Introduction and Hopefully a contest winning submission

Discussion in 'Welcomes and Introductions' started by Mitch, Feb 9, 2013.

1. Mitch

Mitch FujiXspot Regular

Feb 9, 2013
    Piscataway, NJ
    Hi All,
    My name is Mitch and I found this site by listening to the SeriousCompacts podcast and then the mu-43.com site.
    Old to photography, New to Fuji (other than that 3D Camera I bought a few years ago). I'm a concert photographer and a photographer for the shooting sports.
    My full-time gig is running a pre-press department, so I'm always capturing images, or making the pixels cry in photoshop.

Normal rig is a Canon 5D Mk III, but I find that having a smaller camera is useful for certain types of photography, and sometimes the weight and mass of the full rig is enough to make my back and fingers hurt, so
    while the smaller cameras keep getting better and better, I find it fun to keep up with them. (Although buying glass for every new system is getting really old and really expensive).

I took the administrators suggestion and just bought an X-e1 with the kit lens. (yes I used the links through the site!).

Looking forward to getting to learn about the system. If anyone has any great advice for a FujiNoob, feel free to let me know. Otherwise thoughts on the 18 or 35 being my next lens purchase are also welcome!

Cheers,
    Mitch

• Like Like x 2
  2. carlb

carlb FujiXspot Veteran

Feb 6, 2013
    twin cities, minnesota
    Carl
    Hey Mitch, welcome!

I'm guessing most of us will be learning more from you, heh.

I've found the X-E1 and 18-55 to be a great image grabbing machine, but I'm very new to it. I do mostly stills of scenery and the like.