Sticky blades

Discussion in 'Fuji X100, X100S, and X100T' started by Todd, Feb 8, 2013.

1. Todd

Todd New to FujiXspot

Feb 8, 2013
    Hello.
    Looking at an x 100 second hand but concerned about this known issue... please advise.

2. afkenner

afkenner FujiXspot Regular

Feb 3, 2013
    New York
    Adam
    Serial numbers beginning with 22 and above "should" be safe, but no matter what the s/n is you will want to have a copy of the original sales receipt to include with the camera if repair is required. I have no first-hand experience with the issue or repair, but I have read on several sites that Fuji has been repairing the problem in all cases if a sales receipt is included. I don't think I have seen anyone say that Fuji refused to repair this if it occurred.

3. demiro

demiro FujiXspot Regular

Jan 31, 2013
    PA-USA
    Dean
    I spoke with Fuji today on this. They say they will fix sticky blades beyond normal warranty, but only for the original purchaser of the camera with a copy of the receipt. I believe that means "just send the receipt with your camera and it is fine".

I am ready to buy a used X100 with a 12xxx serial #. It's a nice deal, but not crazy or anything. Really not sure if I want to buy in to the known serial # range. A receipt would be included. Fuji says that 3% of the cameras in 12 and 13 serial # ranges are defective. Sure seems worse from what I've read on the internet. :rolleyes: They also confirmed that they can go bad at any time. From first use out of the box to 25,000 actuations (they cited as an example of one they just received for repair).

4. Lawrence A.

Lawrence A. FujiXspot Veteran

Jan 31, 2013
    Albuquerque, NM