The X10 brought the joy back

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by It'sGreg, Feb 3, 2013.

1. It'sGreg

It'sGreg FujiXspot Rookie

Feb 3, 2013
    Iowa
    I've been shooting photos for a few decades now. I was introduced to photography on a cheap Leica knock-off rangefinder. Totally manual, of course, which meant I had to learn and understand the fundamentals: aperture, shutter speed, film speed, depth of field, grain. Every camera I bought after that made the work a wee bit easier. From rangefinder to single lens reflex, from film to digital, from manual focus to auto-focus, from prime lenses to zoom lenses.

I never lost my interest in photography, but it became almost routinized. Then I got a Fujifilm X10. I wanted it because it was small, sturdy, and would easily fit in a bike bag. I hadn't anticipated how much I'd enjoy the camera.

Once I discovered I could turn everything off, I started shooting like I was a kid again. It forced me to remember the fundamentals again, and that required me to be more in the moment, and that brought back the joy. After a week or so, I'd adapted to working without any information in the viewfinder, but even so I spent the first month or so making the most wonderful boneheaded mistakes. Each of those mistakes reminded me of a lesson I'd learned years ago -- lessons I'd taken for granted for so many years.

The camera I got for the bike bag has become the camera I take everywhere. It's made me a better photographer. It made me feel like a kid, and it brought the joy back.

• Like Like x 11
  2. Lightmancer

Lightmancer Super Moderator Subscribing Member

Feb 2, 2013
    Sunny Frimley
    Bill Palmer
    Greg that is a great story. I think that a new camera can inspire and I am glad that the X10 has for you. It's similarity to a film camera - not accidental - is I think appealing to many including me. Share that love by showing us your photos!

• Like Like x 2
  3. Biro

Biro Super Moderator Subscribing Member

Feb 1, 2013