X-T2 or XF100-400 lens

Discussion in 'Fuji X-Mount Cameras' started by rupert, Aug 30, 2016.

1. rupert

rupert New to FujiXspot

Aug 30, 2016
    Would appreciate any advice please. I am a very happy user of an X-T1 and have a range of prime lens plus the excellent XF50-140 f2.8. I am sailing to Antarctica for 4 weeks in November to climb and ski in the area and am wrestling with whether to invest in the new X-T2 or to stick with the X-T1 and get the XF100-400 lens. Not sure I can stretch to both.

I use a prime for people and general shots and would like to use a zoom (with the teleconverter) for wildlife shots that should be pretty plentiful where we are going. As I see it the costs are comparable so any thoughts with reasons would be really appreciated. Thanks all.

I am a competent photographer, but not a pro.

2. BobbyT

BobbyT Super Moderator Subscribing Member

Dec 31, 2013
    Louisville, Ky
    Bobby Tingle
    From your second paragraph, it seems the 100-400 is going to fill a need. But, is this trip the only time you will have the need for this focal range? Also, will the 50-140 with a TC give you enough reach? Have you considered buying the X-T2 and renting a 100-400?

3. Lightmancer

Lightmancer Super Moderator Subscribing Member

Feb 2, 2013
    Sunny Frimley
    Bill Palmer
    The 100-400 is an exceptional lens - I know because I have one. The X-T2 is reputed to be an exceptional camera - I haven't used one long enough to form a full opinion. What I would say is two things. 1. Given the choice, always invest in glass first, and bodies second. 2. Don't go somewhere one-off with brand new kit. Buy well in advance and get familiar with it.

It sounds like a great adventure - I'll look forward to seeing the results!

• Like Like x 1
  4. KillRamsey

KillRamsey Super Moderator

Feb 15, 2013
    Hood River, OR
    Kyle