X10 / Nikon V1 comparison pics, Liberty Memorial

Discussion in 'Scenic, Architecture, and Travel' started by The_Prof, Feb 7, 2013.

1. The_Prof

The_Prof FujiXspot Rookie

Feb 7, 2013
    Not long after getting my X10 (and just before sending it back in for repairs to the OVF), I did a comparison shoot between it and a Nikon V1 I've also been playing around with; at the Liberty Memorial/World War I museum in Kansas City. Would folks be interested in seeing some of the comparison pics?

2. adamlucas

adamlucas New to FujiXspot

Feb 3, 2013
    UK
    Comparison

Please post the comparisons. It will prove interesting.

Thank you.

Adam.

3. Armanius

Armanius FujiXspot Top Veteran

Feb 1, 2013
    Texas
    Muttley
    Sure thing! Thanks.

4. The_Prof

Feb 7, 2013
    Righto, here we go!

A few notes before starting:

* I haven't worked with either camera for very long, so I'm still learning how to get best advantage out of each one. I used both of them in Program mode, with Auto ISO limited to 400 on the X10 and 800 on the V1; that probably made a difference on the interior shots.

* Likewise, I'm still getting used to how best to hold, aim and steady both cameras, so the shot framing isn't as good as I'd like. The V1 was particularly bad about this; it's larger and heavier than the X10, and has almost nothing in the way of a grip.

* For each setting, I took several shots while trying to keep the framing and focal length consistent between cameras; for the comparisons here, I tried to pick the sharpest shot from each batch while keeping the same view. I couldn't control the variables as well as if I had them in full manual mode, but hopefully they'll still be close enough to be useful. (There were a few comparisons I left out both for space and because I couldn't get the scene matched closely enough.)