X20 and RX100 - a subjective POV

Discussion in 'Fuji X10, X20, X30, XF1, and X-S1' started by ermethic, Feb 3, 2013.

1. ermethic

ermethic FujiXspot Rookie

Feb 1, 2013
    With the X20 almost out, and a lot of pretty advanced previews published all over the web, a somewhat objective preliminary comparison can be made, I think.
    As an architect, I used to carry a DSLR around all day for years, but recently I have started looking towards more travel-friendly and lighter options, as in better quality compacts. I've been reading on the issue a lot, and the subject is definitely starting to become a favourite among both professional photographers and enthusiasts, and in my opinion DSLR is going to loose a lot of ground in the next few years if more and more compacts emerge that are giving DSLRs a run for their money.
    The RX100 was a definitely a hit, as it's praised all over the web. It truly seems to stand as a milestone in the compact world as a remarcable technical feat, although there are a few shortcomings that make it somehow unappealing to me. And all of those shortcomings are addressed directly by the upcoming X20.
    Now, considering that the RX100 image quality is undeniably great, the X20 has some pretty large shoes to fill, so I am going to write down a few of the pros/cons of each from *my* point of view, in an attempt to get a more clear picture of which of them would be the more suitable camera for me. Hopefully your contributions will help me and others with a similar dilema to make an informed choice. And as always I'm gonna put the cons first :p

Sony RX100
    cons
    - no VF
    - ergonomy really suffers, settings are all scattered through menus instead of being accessible through shortcuts or dedicated hard-buttons, time to reach and set various parameters is not quite on par with the compact "take out and shoot" philosophy, K.I.S.S.-principles are not the strongpoint of Sony as far as the software is concerned
    - no VF