Critique Wanted would like some input on my compact shots.

Jun Yoo

Rookie
Hi, im new to all this, while on holiday touring the South Island of New Zealand I took some shots. Your feedback would be appreciated. I haven't used any post processing. Thanks guys. All taken at 35mm.

South Island Trip 2011 - a set on Flickr

BTW, this was taken with a canon IXUS 55 from 2006, lol I know. Im looking to get a new kit soon. Any suggestions?

Jun Yoo, compositionally I think these are excellent shots - good placement of the horizon, good framing, good use of lines etc. The problems with them are more problems relating to the camera - struggling with the dynamic range on some of them and not handling highlights very well, but that's down to the limitation of the camera, not the photographer.

I particularly like the second and ninth images img_2067 and img_2191). Some gentle processing to compensate a little for the weakness of the small sensor might be worth trying. Just make sure if you do, to make a copy of the images and work on the copies.

I agree with Olli. A little bit of PP would help too, especially adding contrast in some, and recovering more shadow detail on others.

I look forward to seeing the photos with your new cam, whichever it may be! :)

Jun, this one would have to be my favourite, and this one has a lot of potential.

The first needs a little more adjustment on the curves and contrast - with a little more cropping along the bottom (as the OOF foliage is a little distracting). While the second just needs more post-processing (PP), but all the compositional elements are there IMHO.