Your favorite X travel gear

Discussion in 'Fuji X-Mount Cameras' started by pniev, Feb 12, 2013.

1. pniev

pniev Guest

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the forum and the Fuji world. I used to be A Nikon shooter and sold my entire set because I got tired of carrying the weight. I'm not a pro and I mostly shoot during trips. I've not made up my mind yet but it will be Fuji (with interchangeable lenses). I love the retro look of the x-line as well as the high quality build and the possibility to tweak settings. Initially I wanted to wait for a FF successor of the x-pro1 but I'm inclined to believe those who argue that that's not going to happen for a while. As I use the OVF of the X10 frequently, I have a slight preference for the xpro1.

I do hope you can help me make up my mind by sharing your favorite travel gear to be used for a combination of landscape, nature, street, and macro (macro is my favorite type of photography). I.e. the typical travel photo stuff. No sports/action needed.

More specifically: XP1 or XE1? I've read that the EVF is more difficult to "read" when it is quite sunny. Is that your experience as well?

Which lenses?

And for those who own(ed) a Nikon D200 and now a XP1 or XE1: could you share the main differences? I'm especially "worried" about the dynamic range and tone.

Thanks for your time and help! I do hope to exchange views with you frequently.

Peter

2. Penfan2010

Penfan2010 FujiXspot Veteran

Feb 1, 2013
    Central-ish NJ
    Ed
    Peter, welcome to the forum. I use both the X100 and X-Pro 1 because I really like the OVF. I've not noticed any difficulty using the X-Pro1 EVF in bright sun; conversely, I rely on the OVF for low light when the EVF refresh rate could become a problem (especially for low-light shots with moving subjects, i.e. dance).